jump to navigation

Nurture Book Tour – The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins + Giveaway October 17, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Books, Giveaways, Nurture Your Books.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Author Bio:

Denise Tompkins lives in the heart of the South where the neighbors still know your name, all food forms are considered fry-able and bugs die only to be reincarnated in aggressive, blood-craving triplicate. Thrilled to finally live somewhere that can boast 3 ½ seasons (winter’s only noticeable because the trees are naked), her favorite season is definitely fall. It’s the time of year when the gardens are just about to pass into winter’s brief silence, and the leaves are out to prove that nature is the most brilliant artist of all.

A life-long voracious reader, Denise has three favorite authors. Why three? Because favorite authors are like chips: a person can’t have just one. Her little house was so overrun with books last year that her darling husband bought her an e-reader out of self-preservation. He was (legitimately) afraid she might begin throwing out pots and pans to make room for more books, and he didn’t want to starve.

Along with reading, Denise loves travel, is obsessed with the British Isles, practices photography, enjoys cooking and looks forward to Christmas as an excuse to bake.

I’d like to welcome author Denise Tompkins to Juniper Grove today! Denise has graciously allowed me to interview her as part of her Nurture Virtual Book Tour. Check out her interview below:

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy is about?

Legacy is the first book in The Niteclif Evolutions series. The series is focused on a single heroine, Maddy Niteclif, who makes a wish that her life be anything other than what it is. She gets her wish and a great deal more, finding that her family tree is much more diverse and complex than she thought and she’s in no way prepared to handle it.

How long did it take you to write this book?

Legacy was a very fast book. It took about six weeks to write. I was an author possessed!

What was your inspiration to write this book?

I’d reached a very low personal point in my life and my husband came home one day, handed me a laptop and said, “Write. It used to make you happy.” I avoided the computer for several days until the idea for Legacy was born. I couldn’t sleep—knew I had to get up and write this story down lest I forget it. It was my first inclination that this would change my life.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

Legacy is a fast-paced, action-oriented mystery with heavy romance elements from a debut author who’s here to stay.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I can have iTunes on in the background, but I cannot have the television or any other conversation happening around me. It becomes impossible for me to stay focused on the task at hand. Even turning the music up doesn’t help!

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I absolutely love photography, gardening and cooking. I look forward to the winter holidays as an excuse to bake. I really enjoy finding time to read, too, which has become more and more the luxury for me as of late.

What does your family think of your writing?

My husband and my parents are so proud of me. I’ve been blessed with the most intensely supportive network of friends and family. I don’t think I could have done better had I custom ordered them from a writers’ supply store!

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

There are two pieces of advice I’d like to share. First, don’t listen to the nay-sayers. They have zero control and zero influence over whether or not you’re able to achieve your dream. You are the only one who can influence that.

Second, if you look at a piece of work and think, “It’s good enough,” you’re wrong. Live by this mantra: good enough never is. Your personal best is the only thing you should ever settle for.

What genre do you find the most difficult to write in and why?

I don’t write horror. I have a hard time with violence, and when it’s directed at innocent people or animals, it makes my stomach pitch. Some of my writing has violence in it, but it’s not the same. I’m not sure why, but it’s very different to me.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

I’m a Pantser, writing without any clear outline or synopsis. When I sit down to write, I’m dependent on my own sense of adventure and creativity to pick up where I left off and begin where we left off. It pushes me to think in broader elements, outside the box of “normal” more often than not.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

I definitely experience writers’ block, but I don’t accept it as terminal. Instead, I find my favorite writing music, Two Steps from Hell, and turn up the volume. I focus on where the character needs to be in the current paragraph, and what steps s/he needs to take to get to the next paragraph. I push through by focusing on small bites of progress.

What is the last book you read?

I’m currently reading Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh. She’s so incredibly talented. I’d love to meet her someday!

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

I do. I just finished up the first book in a new series, The Key Guardians. Book one, Raising Cain, is a very cool story about a woman who’s The Key, the one soul capable of opening the gates to the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. She’s not willing, but both Heaven and Hell are ready. The gloves come off in a fight for her soul, and no one’s fighting fair.

What does the word success mean to you?

Oh, wow. That’s a great question. Success is a multiply defined word for me. It means, first and foremost, that I can walk into a bookstore and pick my book up off the shelf. I have no care whether it’s hardback, paperback or trade paperback. Success means that I am multi-published in both digital and traditional media. It means I’ve got another contract signed and waiting for me. It means I’ve found the balance in my personal and professional lives that allows me to live richly and happily in both. That’s success to me.

If you had to trade lives with someone for an entire week, who would you trade with? Keep in mind that they would be living your life as well.

Assuming I’d be able to have her skill or that she’d carry her skill into my own life and my projects, I’d choose Larissa Ione. She’s the most amazing woman, and so genuinely kind-hearted. She’s incredibly talented and I feel like I could learn so much about the type of writer I want to be—as both a creative soul and a role-model for others—then she’d be my pick, hands down.

What is the best advice anyone has ever given to you?

Great question! By far and away the best advice I’ve ever been given is this: Dare to suck. It means don’t be afraid to go out there, do your best, and fail. It’s alright to not be the best at everything. It’s alright to suck, because it means you’re trying.

One food you would never eat?

Pickled pigs feet. Have you seen where pigs are walking? (shudders)

Biggest Pet Peeve?

Rude people. (laughs) They drive me absolutely bonkers. I mean, really. How hard is it to take ten seconds and show a little common courtesy? Can you imagine if the entire world took one day and did nothing but practice random acts of kindness? Wow.

Thank you Denise for that amazing interview! I myself would never eat pickled pigs feet *turns green* and am often annoyed by rude people…hehe


The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins

Looking back on the wish she made on Midsummer’s Eve, Maddy Niteclif should have been more specific. She only wanted to escape the shadowy nightmares that plagued her nights, not to be thrust into a completely altered reality.

If a strangely familiar, sexy dragon-shifter named Bahlin, who causes a never-to-be-mentioned-again fainting spell, isn’t enough to make her question her sanity, his insistence she’s the Niteclif ought to do the job. Prophesied super-sleuth of the supernatural world—a world that desperately needs her help—isn’t a job she’s remotely qualified for no matter what her family tree says.

Catapulted into a very different London ruled by dark mythology, mystery and murder, Maddy makes a few startling discoveries. Paranormal creatures exist. Getting shot really sucks. And her body responds remarkably well to dragon magic—in more ways than simple wound healing.

But in this kill-or-be-killed world, reality bites. And Maddy must choose to go back to what she knows…or stay and fight for the man she knows she can’t live without.

Warning: This book contains a shape-shifting dragon with a Scottish accent, modern and archaic weapons, global inter-species politics that make democracy seem mild, some very steamy sex underground, a severed head, murder, and…oh yeah…a woman caught in the middle of it all.

Be sure to check back on October 20th when I share my review of The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy!

You can find a complete list of tour stops HEREbut here are the next few in line:

Giveaway Time!

One lucky reader will win an eBook copy of The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins! Giveaway is international and ends at 11:59PM EST on November 7th, 2011.

*GIVEAWAY CLOSED. WINNER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED*

Find and follow Denise Tompkins:

Author Website
Author Blog
Twitter
Goodreads
Facebook Page

Buy the eBOOK at:

Amazon.com
Amazon.co.uk
Barnes & Noble
Samhain Publishing, Ltd.

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Legacy: The Niteclif Evolutions, Book 1 by Denise Tompkins » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - October 18, 2011

[…] Page Too Nurture Your BOOKS™ NING Visit Nurture Your BOOKS™ NING What people are saying…Nurture Book Tour – The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy by Denise Tompkins + Giveaway « Juni… on LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Legacy: The Niteclif Evolutions, Book 1 by Denise TompkinsUnder The Neon […]

2. katsrus - October 18, 2011

Your book sounds wonderful. Love the cover.
Sue B

3. Denise Tompkins - October 18, 2011

Thank you so much, Sue! My cover artist, Nathalie Gray, is a seriously talented woman. I’ve got my fingers crossed that she does the cover for the sequel, Wrath, too.

Thanks for stopping by!
Denise

4. Laurie - October 19, 2011

great interview…..the mention of the worst food brought back memories…. my first husband loved pickled pigs feet – I never understood that…yuck! nasty…… LOL .

5. Denise Tompkins - October 19, 2011

Hi Laurie.
No way would I eat them. Just…yuck. You have that dead to right. Thanks for the compliment on the interview and for stopping by. Good luck with the contest!
Denise

6. Nurture Book Tour – The Niteclif Evolutions: Legacy « Juniper Grove - October 20, 2011

[…] forget to check out my interview with Denise HERE and enter to win your own eBook copy of The Niteclif Evolutions: […]

7. Letter from a Dragon Legacy {Guest #Author: Denise Thompkins} » - November 11, 2011

[…] October 18th – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post, Author Interview & Book Giveaway! […]


Leave a Reply

