jump to navigation

Nurture Book Tour – I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At by Kyle Garret + Giveaway September 26, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Books, Nurture Your Books.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Author Bio:

Kyle Garret is a writer from the Midwest living on the West Coast by way of the South. He was born and raised in Kent, Ohio, and attended Ohio University where he received his Master’s degree in Creative Writing. After a few years in Atlanta, he moved out West. He now lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Nicole, and their two cats. He is currently finishing work on a novel and a young adult book.

I’d like to welcome author Kyle Garret to Juniper Grove today! Check out this interview to learn more about this author:

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At is about?

There are two stories in “Pray.”  One is the story of my grandfather’s life.  He was a retired Major and three war veteran, and he and my grandmother were married for over sixty years.  The other is the story of me writing the story of my grandfather’s life, and all the things I had to go through to write this book.

How long did it take you to write this book?

I started it in January of 2006 and the version that eventually saw print was completed in early 2010.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

My then-girlfriend-now-wife Nicole was the one who finally pushed me to write this book, as it had been on my to-do list for years.  My grandparents were obviously also a big inspiration.  They led such an interesting life together that telling their story was always exciting.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

It’s a true story of love and war.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I have a freakish memory, so my non-fiction work is filled with very specific details that I think helps place the reader in the scene.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I read a lot.  I listen to music as often as possible.  I watch TV and go to the movies.  I read and write reviews of comic books.  I’d love to play video games more often, but they suck up too much time!  I tend to gravitate towards things that can inspire me creatively.

What does your family think of your writing?

My family is very supportive.  Since the book features all of them, there were a few moments where they were a bit worried about how much I said, but in the end I don’t think I revealed anything too bad!  I think they’ve always been impressed by my dedication to writing, even if they don’t fully understand it.

What do you think makes a good story?

Connection.  I think we can connect to a wide variety of stories in a wide variety of ways.  A story doesn’t have to have a relatable plot to connect with the audience.  Some of the most powerful stories I’ve read have been science fiction and fantasy.  Readers will follow good characters almost anywhere.  I think, at its core, a good story offers a connection to the reader, even if it’s not obvious or intentional.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Writing!  The act of sitting down and typing words out is hard for me.  I never have a shortage of ideas, but I have to force myself to actually write.  The business side of it isn’t a lot of fun, either – there’s a lot of stuffing of self-addressed stamped envelopes!

What is the last book you read?

Supergods” by Grant Morrison

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

My first eBook, “Unrequited,” will be available everywhere by the time this interview is posted.  It’s another love story, but a very different one: it has zombies!

My in-house editor aka my wife is currently reading a YA book I wrote.  I’m writing a second one as we speak.  I also have a completed novel, but fiction that isn’t YA is just a really hard sell these days.

Do you have a favorite method for writing, getting ideas, working out plots, etc?

I keep a notebook handy at all times.  If I’m working on one specific thing, like when I was writing “Pray,” I dedicate a notebook just for that project, which helps me keep all the plot points in line.  When I write I need to have slow, often sad music on – calms my brain down so I can focus.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

My uncle so I could hear his side of the story.

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

As much as I’d love to do either, I think I’d probably be too worried about messing things up to do any time traveling.  I would worry that going to the past might change my present, and that going to the future would eliminate whatever I see, because I would know it was coming.

What does the word success mean to you?

Being happy.

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

Probably a turtle.  I like to spend a lot of time in my shell, but I’ll come out for the important things.

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

“Happiness through misdirection.”

One food that you would never eat?

Veal.

Thank you Kyle for that interesting interview! I loved your answer for which animal you’d compare yourself too. I think it fits a lot of other writers as well :)

Get your copy of I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At by Kyle Garret on Kindle!

Synopsis:

After the attack on Pearl Harbor, eighteen-year-old Robert Stuart had a decision to make: keep working at the steel mill in Warren, Ohio, or volunteer to serve his country. Anne Davis had a decision of her own to make. The girls in her high school were going to send letters to alumni who were going off to war. She looked at the list of soldiers and saw a familiar name: Robert Stuart.The letters Anne sent would mark the beginning of a relationship that would span sixty years, two marriages, two children, and three wars.Over half a century after those first letters were sent, the Stuarts’ grandson, Kyle, began chronicling their life together. He would discover pieces of a family history that only he dug deep enough to learn. But in the back of his mind, one concern lingered: the story of a person’s life can only have one ending, and his grandfather’s health was deteriorating.

You can find a complete list of tour stops HERE but here are the next few in line:

Where you can find and follow Kyle Garret:

Author Website
Book Website
Twitter
Facebook Page
Facebook Profile
Goodreads Profile

Buy the BOOK at:

Amazon.com
Amazon.ca
Amazon.co.uk
Barnes & Noble

Giveaway Time!

One lucky reader will win an eBook copy of I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At by Kyle Garret! Giveaway will run until 11:59PM EST on October 5th, 2011 and is International. To enter, fill out the form below:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Kyle Garret, with I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - September 26, 2011

[…] Visit Nurture Your BOOKS™ NING We’re a Blogmania Sponsor! What people are saying…Nurture Book Tour – I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot At by Kyle Garret + Giveaway &laq… on LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Kyle Garret, with I Pray Hardest When I’m Being Shot AtNurture Book Tour […]

2. Darlene - October 1, 2011

Thanks for the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

