jump to navigation

Book Review: inSyte by Greg Kiser September 22, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in 4 Tree Reviews, Book Reviews, Jaidis Shaw Reviews.
Tags:
trackback

Get your copy of inSyte on Kindle!!

Description:

inSyte is a paranormal thriller that will appeal to readers of Michael Crichton and Stephen King.

It’s Tampa Bay and the year is 2020. Ex-Navy SEAL Mitch “Double” Downing discovers how to tap into the internet with his mind. His new inSyte provides transparent access to the sum of all human knowledge recorded since hieroglyphics. More than mere information – Mitch can see into men’s hearts and be all places at all times (easy in an ‘always on’ surveillance society with fourth generation tweets). Sort of like God.

But inSyte has ideas of its own as the software exposes a politician’s “divine” plan that will unwittingly slaughter millions of people. Is killing the man the only way to prevent Armageddon? The politician’s daughter would probably disagree. And she happens to be the love of Mitch’s life. Losing Kate would be too damn much collateral damage.

At the center of the conflict is a wolf-like killer who will stop at nothing to murder the ex-Navy SEAL.

And Mitch must come to grips with inSyte’s dark side – a dominating addiction that soon controls his thoughts and places him on a steep slide to self destruction.

My Review:

inSyte is a futuristic tale that you do not want to miss. The reader starts out in July 2014 by being introduced to Mitch and Woody, two Navy Seals who have found themselves in the middle of heavy gun fire. After taking a hit, Mitch learns that fate, destiny and/or the higher powers that be have a plan for him..and it doesn’t involve him dying in Iran. The book then shifts to its first part, jumping to Florida in the year 2020.

Cheslov Kirill is dark, mysterious and the antagonist of the story. Even though he is ultimately the bad guy, he is written in such a way that I found myself drawn to him. Each of his mannerisms and  nervous ticks make him more believable and ultimately, a really good bad guy that I enjoyed getting to know. Especially as certain chapters clue us into why he is the way he is.

Add in all of the futuristic technology and inSyte becomes a great thriller. Mr. Kiser describes technology in a way that is believable and may even be possible in the future instead of describing something off-the-wall. With a world that is already filled with social media and high-tech gadgets…it is only a slight transition to the technology that is described in inSyte.

But all of the facts and tidbits that are spread through cyberspace can have a negative effect. Especially when Mitch discovers a plot with his new ‘inSyte’ that would not only harm millions of people but would cost him his girlfriend, Kate, because the man behind the plot happens to be Mayor Delaney and Kate’s father.

One of the things I liked most about Mr. Kiser’s writing is that he added tidbits of random thoughts during the story. That is something that I often think about while reading books. Someone is going on and on about some topic that the other person may find boring. Are they listening to the dialogue as suggested by the writing? Realistically…probably not. Mr. Kiser knows this and so he made his characters believable by sharing their thoughts at different moments. Is the quirky guy really listening to his professor rant about the effects of technology? Of course not! He is thinking about his date last night. I loved that about this novel and it made inSyte appeal to me that much more.

My Rating:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Advertisements

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Greg Kiser, with “inSyte” » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - September 23, 2011

[…] September 23rd – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post & Book Review! […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s