jump to navigation

Nurture Book Tour – The Arranger + Giveaway September 12, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Books, Nurture Your Books.
Tags: ,
trackback

L.J. Sellers is an award-winning journalist and the author of the bestselling Detective Jackson mystery/suspense series: The Sex Club, Secrets to Die For, Thrilled to Death, Passions of the Dead, and Dying for Justice. Her novels have been highly praised by Mystery Scene, Crimespree, and Spinetingler magazines, and the series is on Amazon Kindle’s bestselling police procedural list. L.J. also has two standalone thrillers: The Baby Thief and The Suicide Effect. When not plotting murders, she enjoys performing standup comedy, cycling, social networking, and attending mystery conferences. She’s also been known to jump out of airplanes.

Want to know how The Arranger came to be? Of course you do! Check out this guest post by L.J. Sellers:

A Great Opening Scene…Becomes a Futuristic Thriller by L.J. Sellers

Where do you get your ideas? That’s what readers often want to know, but for this unusual story, it’s more true than ever. Typically, my plots spring from social issues I feel passionately about or from intriguing criminal concepts, but The Arranger started with the opening scene. One day as I watched paramedics carry a patient from a home, I thought: What if those paramedics witnessed a crime? Or heard a deathbed confession that made them a target to be killed? I visualized such a scenario as an opening scene for a crime fiction novel. I became so intrigued by the idea, I decided to see if I could develop a plot.

At the time, I was considering writing a futuristic thriller, one of my favorite genres to read, and I realized Detective Evans from my Jackson series had a background as a paramedic. Those things came together to give me a time frame, a character, and an opening scene. As for how the rest of the plot developed, it was a complex combination of ideas that eventually melded.

The underlying themes in my stories are almost always rooted in my fears. Because I try to be optimistic—and fearless—in my personal life, my fiction gives me a way to process fears that I otherwise try to suppress. One of my greatest concerns now is what will happen if high unemployment continues and the economy stagnates. In such a scenario, ten or fifteen years from now, I envisioned that jobs would become a premium, valuable commodities with the inherent capacity for corruption.

Once I had that idea, my second character, who’s both a protagonist and antagonist, quickly developed. At first, I envisioned Paul as a sociopath, but as I began to write his story, I empathized with him and he morphed. I began to see him as someone who felt powerless and invisible, yet wanted desperately to be seen and loved. Paul is a decent man who is presented with an opportunity to change his life. And he does. But as a result of an interesting set of circumstances, he goes too far in his transformation.

The real protagonist, ex-detective Lara Evans, already had a background established in my fifth Jackson book, Dying for Justice. She is intensively physical with impulsive tendencies. From that, the idea of a national endurance competition with jobs as the prize emerged as the ideal scenario for Lara. Her impulsiveness also gave me an idea for what had happened to end her law enforcement career and give her the driving motivation to win the Gauntlet.

Now all I had to do was bring the diverse ideas together in a way that worked with my opening scene. It required a few brainstorming sessions, but then the story seemed fall into place. Still, it was the most difficult novel I’ve written yet. In some ways, The Arranger is less complex than my mysteries, but the characters were more challenging, and the Gauntlet scenes were out of my league. Yet writing them was the most fun I’ve ever had, and early readers say those scenes left them breathless.

Early readers have asked if The Arranger is the start of a new series, hoping that it would be. I honestly don’t know. My plan is to write two more Detective Jackson novels, then see what comes up for me next. If “future Lara” proves to be popular, she could make a comeback.

Thank you L.J. for sharing that thoughtful guest post with us!

You can find a complete list of tour stops HERE but here are the next few in line:

My Review:

The Arranger by L.J. Sellers is a suspenseful tale of strength, determination and the ultimate fight for survival. Lara Evans has a dark cloud of guilt that looms over her: a constant reminder of her past actions. She has a lot to prove, mostly to herself, and so she sets out with a mission to win The Gauntlet. The Gauntlet is a grueling competition that tests the best of the best from each state. The winner will not only receive some prize money but their home state will receive funds that are desperately needed in the down economy….

You can read the rest of my review of The Arranger HERE

L.J. can be found at the following places:

Where you can find & follow L.J. Sellers:

Author Website
Author Blog
Twitter
Facebook Page
Facebook Profile
Goodreads Profile

Buy the BOOK at:

Amazon.com
Amazon.ca
Amazon.co.uk
Author Blog
Independent Bookstores (by request)

Giveaway Time!

I have One (1) eBook copy of The Arranger by L.J. Sellers to giveaway to one of my readers! Contest is open Globally so everyone may enter! Contest will end at 11:59 PM EST on September 19th, 2011.

To Enter, fill out the form below:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – L.J. Sellers, with The Arranger: A Futuristic Novel » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - September 12, 2011

[…] September 12th – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post, Book Review & Book Giveaway! […]

2. ljsellers - September 12, 2011

Thanks for hosting me. You blog is gorgeous. And loved your review too. :)

Jaidis - September 15, 2011

Thank you for stopping by! <3


Leave a Reply

