jump to navigation

Nurture Book Tour – In My Dreams by Cameo Renae + Giveaway August 25, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Books, Giveaways, Nurture Your Books.
trackback

Her name is Cameo Renae Rosete, but as an author, she goes by Cameo Renae (it was actually her husband’s idea). She is married to her best friend, and they have two beautiful children together (teenagers now). Her family has been her encouragement and constant support through this whole process. Oh… and her critics! :) In a good way though…

Apart from being an author, Cameo has two jobs: booking horseback tours into the Haleakala Crater, and working in the wedding industry in Maui. She works with coordinators on the island, who book her husband to perform their wedding ceremonies. He is a top Hawaiian officiate there on the island.

“Writing actually relaxes me. When I started In My Dreams, I never thought it would turn out the way it did. I really had no plan, and no structure. I just wrote… and it became. I’ve been perceived as a very happy, bubbly person, but this story is dark and kind of sad, which is very unlike my personality, but there are bits of humor inserted. I love watching paranormal shows, ghost stories, anything with vampires or angels, and great love stories… I guess that’s why In My Dreams came out the way it did.”

Cameo Renae is in the process of writing her next book which is the first in a new, Paranormal Trilogy.

“We’ll see what the future holds. Whatever it is… I’m up for the challenge!”

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I’d like to thank Ms. Renae for stopping by Juniper Grove today and allowing me to interview her! Check it out below:

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what In My Dreams is about?

In My Dreams is an emotional, romantic journey between Lizzy and Michael. They’ve been best friends since childhood and have just started to take their relationship to the next level when… Michael is murdered. Lizzy is devastated, but not only that, Michael’s killer is now targeting her. In the spirit realm, Michael refuses to cross over until he knows that Lizzy is safe, and will risk everything to make sure of it.

How long did it take you to write this book?

From start to finish it took about two years to finish, BUT I wasn’t writing the whole time. In My Dreams was actually sitting, half-finished, waiting for me to make time, for over a year. It was screaming… Hello! Remember me! I’m still here! Work and graduating kids swiped up my every waking minute. Then… at the beginning of this year, my 2011 resolution was to finish. A few months later… In My Dreams was complete. Phew!

What was your inspiration to write this book?

There were a series of events that inspired In My Dreams.

First, was the passing of my mother-in-law. She passed quite suddenly from cancer, which stole her beautiful life too soon.

Then, paranormal shows started to hit the TV. Mediums like Lisa Williams, John Edwards, and shows like Ghost Hunters, Paranormal State, and Ghost Adventures aired. My mind began reeling with questions. The biggest question…What really happens when we die?  Then… one night I had a nightmare. I woke my husband from his sleep and told him all about it. He thought it was pretty cool, and said it would make a good story. The very next day, I went to my computer and wrote down my dream, which became the 1st chapter of In My Dreams.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

If you want a page turning, emotional, thrilling, suspenseful, romantic read, then pick up In My Dreams.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

In grade school we did a lot of creative writing. My third grade teacher had brought four stuffed animals into class, and asked us to write a story about each one. We each took turns reading in front of the class, and then the class would vote for the winner. The winner got to keep the animal they wrote about. I remembered how fun it was making up stories, and I actually won one! Yay!

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Ideas just seem to pop into my mind at the weirdest times. I’m still teaching myself to carry a pad and pen, or have one nearby. If not, I’m yelling to whoever’s in ears distance, “Quick! Help me find a paper and pen before I forget!” I have envelopes, receipts, and assorted papers with my ideas scribbled all over them. I just got a journal. I’m still learning…

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Good question. When I’m not writing I’m usually working, but that’s not fun at all. So, my favorite thing to do besides work is either read, rest, or watch a good movie with lots of snacks handy :)

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Keep writing. The more you do, the better you get. (Hopefully) And one thing that I can’t seem to do enough of… edit, edit, edit.

What do you think makes a good story?

I think a great story will grab you from the beginning and keep you turning pages until the end. And, when you’re done… you ponder it and it sticks with you.

What genre do you find the most difficult to write in and why?

Adult romance. I just can’t write about steamy, sexy stuff. That’s definitely not me.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Writing is the easy part… so far. Thank goodness I haven’t run into the dreaded writer’s block. The hardest part for me is editing.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

I haven’t experienced writer’s block, yet (knock-on-wood). I’d probably work on another part of the story if the part I’m at has me stumped.

What is the last book you read?

Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

Yes! In My Dreams has actually given me wings. I enjoyed writing it, so much, that I immediately started another YA paranormal romance novel. It is set to be a trilogy, but we’ll see. The next novel is almost complete. I am really excited about these upcoming novels!

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

I’d have to say Oprah. She’s rich, powerful, and has a wonderful book club with thousands of followers. Need I say more? :)

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

I’d love to travel into the past and visit the late 5th Century. It was a time when legends were born. It was a time of chivalry and romance, where gallant knights roamed the lands in shining armor; a time of heroic quests, elegant ladies and castles. That would be an awesome thing to witness.

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

Hmmm. At the present time, I’d be an eagle. Right now, I feel like I’m soaring and will hopefully keep ascending. Plus, my kids just graduated from high school. Don’t eagles drop their kids out of the nest when it’s time for them to fly? Then yes… I’m an eagle. ;) Just kidding! (In case my kids read this – You know I’d never drop you. I’d nudge… but never drop! Lol ;))

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

Don’t bug me until I’ve had my 2nd cup of coffee!

What is the best advice anyone has ever given to you?

That would be my mother-in-law before she passed. Some of her last words to me were, “Keep writing, Cam.” And those words have definitely stuck with me.

One food you would never eat?

Balut. It’s a Filipino delicacy. Yes, I have Filipino blood, but…Ugh… Sorry! Eating a half-formed, baby-bird fetus is just wrong.

Thank you Cameo for the amazing interview! I think it is safe to say that eating Balut is wrong. Your actually the second author to put Balut as their answer. True story..hehe

It was happening again. The dreams. The nightmares. It was something seventeen year-old Elizabeth “Lizzy” Hayes thought she’d outgrown; dreams that would come true; detailed premonitions of how people would die. This time she dreams about her boyfriend, Michael Young, and soon discovers that he’s been found… dead.

Michael hasn’t crossed over because he was murdered, and now his murderer is coming for Lizzy. His spirit won’t rest until she is safe, and as a newbie spirit, the easiest way for him to make contact is through Lizzy’s dreams. When she dreams, it’s as if he hasn’t died.

Lizzy must learn to pull on her inner strength to survive horrifying events. Meanwhile, in the spirit world, Michael learns everything he can about his supernatural gifts to help. But will it be enough to save her?

You can check out my review of In My Dreams HERE

You can find the complete list of previous tour stops HERE but here are the two for tomorrow:

Places where you can find Ms. Renae include:

Author Website
Author Blog
Twitter
Facebook Page
Facebook Profile
Goodreads

Giveaway Time!

Thanks to Cameo, I have two copies of In My Dreams to giveaway today! The first copy – a Signed Print copy of In My Dreams – is available to my readers in the US, UK and Canada only. The second copy – an eBook copy – is available Globally. Giveaway will end at 11:59pm EST on August 31st.

To Enter, Fill out the form below:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Cameo Renae, with In My Dreams » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - August 25, 2011

[…] 25th – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post, Author Interview, Book Giveaway & 5-Star Book […]

2. Cameo Renae (@CameoRenae) - August 25, 2011

Hey Jaidis! Thanks for inviting me over for an interview. Boy, that was fun! ;) Really… balut was used on another interview? Wow! In case people were wondering… I’m only 1/4 Filipino. ;)

Jaidis - August 25, 2011

Hehe…I’ve only asked that food question twice and both times balut was the answer. Guess that just goes to show how nasty eating it is..lol

3. katsrus - August 25, 2011

Love your book cover. Your book sounds so good. Wonderful interview.
Sue B

4. Cameo Renae (@CameoRenae) - August 26, 2011

Thanks so much, Sue!
And… Good luck to everyone entering the giveaway! :)

5. Diana - August 29, 2011

Great interview! In My Dreams sounds great. Thanks for the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

