jump to navigation

Nurture Book Tour – Unleashed by Emily Kimelman July 21, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Nurture Your Books.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Emily Kimelman graduated from NYU with a degree in the history of homicide, forensic science and detective novels. She worked as a dog walker while obtaining that degree. When not writing, Emily works with her husband, Sean Gilvey, in their glass blowing studio and gallery in Philadelphia.

~*~*~*~*~

I’d like to thank Emily for stopping by Juniper Grove today and allowing me to interview her! Check it out below:

What was your inspiration to write Unleashed?

I’ve always loved mystery novels and while I was in college I read this awful mystery about cats where the killer ends up being an alien and it seemed like the cats might have been aliens as well. It was all very confusing and annoying so I put the book down and thought, “I can do better than that!”

At that time, I was working as a dog-walker on the Upper East Side of Manhattan. While I had keys to all of my client’s homes, they had never seen me. I thought that it was all really strange. I’d recently adopted a giant Wolf dog named Nova who quickly became the inspiration for Blue. The combination of anonymity and the incredible access to people’s lives made a dog-walker the perfect profession for an amateur sleuth and Unleashed was born!

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

It is fast-paced fun that will keep your eyes glued to the page and leave you feeling breathless and alive.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

My favorite thing to do when I’m not writing is to travel. When I got “stuck” while writing Unleashed and couldn’t figure out how it should end, I went to Thailand for a month. When I came back, I finished the story in three weeks.

What does your family think of your writing?

My family is a bunch of mystery fans so they’ve been very supportive of my writing. My mom gets very involved when she is reading my work and leaves me messages like, “Don’t you go down that tunnel. It’s too dangerous!”

How many books have you written so far?

I’ve written two books, “Unleashed” and the sequel that doesn’t have a name just yet. I’ll let my husband come up with the title; he has a real knack for it.

How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?

The sale of my first book was on Kindle and I didn’t know it had happened until two weeks later. I put the book up to see how it would show up in search results. It wasn’t the official cover and the copy was not up to snuff, but somehow two people found it and bought Unleashed. I went into my account to fix up the page and couldn’t believe my luck. I think my husband gave me a high five and that was about the extent of it; well almost. I also started tracking my book stats.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Offering advice is something I love doing, especially while holding a glass of wine. If a young Writer and I were sharing a bottle and they asked me for advice, I think that I’d say, “Write. Write. Write.”

Do you hear from your readers much?

My Mother calls me every day; does that count? *smiles*

What is the last book you read?

I just finished reading “Hush Money” by Susanne Biscoff and I loved it!

If you could take any book and rewrite it, putting your own twist on it, which book would it be and why?

I don’t think there are any books I’d want to rewrite. I could never touch a masterpiece like “Pride and Prejudice” or “A is for Alibi”. And books I don’t wholly admire I wouldn’t want to rewrite because I’ve got way too many ideas of my own to mess around with.

What is your least favorite movie that came from a book?

I racked my brain about this question and did not come up with one which seems really strange because I know that I’ve walked out of movies steaming about what they did to the book, but that was way back in high school. If I really enjoy a book, I won’t go and see its big-screen movie adaptation. Case in point: I have not watched the Harry Potter movies although I hear they are great. Simply put; if it doesn’t match what is in my head (hard to do if you’re not in there) than I don’t want to see it.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

I’d like to have dinner with Hemmingway because he really knew how to eat and celebrate; two things I enjoy almost as much as he did. I think we’d get along great.

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

Assuming that I would survive, I’d like to go back to when dinosaurs lived. Wouldn’t you love to see those things wandering the earth? And what do you think it smelled like that long ago? Imagine how crazy the plants would be!

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

I’d compare myself to something small, unattractive and defenseless like a slug, so I’d come out looking great.

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

Hi!

Joy Humbolt is not a huge fan of people and after getting fired from her latest stint as a barista she is becoming dangerously close to unemployable. So when Charlene Miller offers Joy a dog-walking business on the exclusive upper east side of Manhattan, Joy is happy to accept, despite a suspiciously quick transaction. But Joy’s world is turned upside down when she discovers one of her clients murdered and Charlene gone. Joy cannot help but become caught up in the drama and danger of her new employer’s lives.

With the help of a rogue Police Detective, Joy enters her clients sphere of power and influence searching for the killer. Usually a loner, Joy is disturbed by how much she likes it in their world. These people make the rules but are not bound by them. Joy realizes too late that only one kind of justice makes it this far uptown: vigilante. When Joy let’s go of what little respect she had for the human race she becomes unstoppable, unleashed, and is reborn Sydney Rye.

You can check out my review of Unleashed HERE

You can find the complete list of tour stops HERE but be sure to stop by the last two stops:

* July 25th – Beverly G. @ Everyone Loves A SiNner

* July 25th – Bobbie @ Nurture Your BOOKS™ Blog

Places where you can find Ms. Kimelman include:

Official Author Website
Tumblr
Facebook Profile

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Sara Youngblood Hampton - July 22, 2011

I really liked the interview and review! It looks like a great book so I’ve already bought and downloaded it. I’m looking forward to start reading it!

2. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Emily Kimelman, with Unleashed » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - July 22, 2011

[…] 22nd – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post, Author Interview & Book […]


Leave a Reply

