jump to navigation

Book Tour – The House on Blackstone Moor by Carole Gill July 5, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Book Tours, Nurture Your Books.
trackback

Carole Gill wrote her first story at age 8. It was science fiction. She switched to horror in her teens and has been writing ever since. In 2000, she was selected by North West Playwrights of England for further development but found she preferred fiction writing (novels and short stories). However the experience enhanced her ability to write dialogue.

Widely published in horror and sci-fi anthologies, The House on Blackstone Moor, published by Vamplit, is Carole’s first novel. It is a tale of vampirism, madness, obsession and devil worship.

A former New Yorker but resident in England and residing in Yorkshire gave her the knowledge of the area the novel is set in. Also, as a great admirer of the Brontes and frequent visitor to the Bronte Parsonage in Haworth she found herself nearly obsessed with recreating the gothic romantic narrative.

Also having been employed in a hospital which had been historically a workhouse and asylum in Victorian times, Carole was able to add great realism to the depiction of the asylums as described in her novel.

~*~*~*~

I’d like to thank Carole for allowing me to interview her here on Juniper Grove! Check it out:

How long did it take you to write The House on Blackstone Moor?

About five months.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

I read that the gothic romance genre was considered to be passé. That didn’t sit well with me.

There are readers still discussing their favorite gothic romance novels all over the net. I for one enjoy those books too and am thrilled to re-read novels I enjoyed years ago.

If there are the readers then, why not write for them? Not only for them but I thought, why not bring more readers into the genre? This I intend to do with darker, more intense storylines.

That was my basic inspiration. I decided I would write my own story my way.

As for the actual crafting: images came to mind almost immediately. I imagined a grand looking house on barren moorland. My characters just evolved from there.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

If you want to read a tale of love and tragedy of human and supernatural evil with unforgettable characters, experience The House on Blackstone Moor.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Research for my writing! I’m always in that mode! Truly!

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Read a lot and write a lot. Write paragraphs, stories, poems. Just write. Submit when you feel ready. Learn from criticism. Join a good writer’s workshop if you can. I did where I had one to one contact.

Remember that writing is very personal and we all do it differently what might work for one might not work for another. Keep experimenting the whole thing is a learning experience!

Some people are judgmental when it comes to the horror genre. Do you find that these judgments make writing horror more difficult or does it not impact your writing?

It doesn’t bother me in the least. Good writing is good writing, period. Deeply interesting characters with fascinating and memorable storylines can exist anywhere.

I happen to write what my publisher calls literary horror. I put a great deal into my writing. Gore is never a storyline. An unforgettable story is a storyline.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how do you overcome it?

Not really. Writer’s block is merely a wakeup call. It might be your brain’s way of alerting you that perhaps you need to rethink a story or a character.

If you find that you can’t write something, write something else! Put one project away and go onto a short story you had in mind or if you didn’t have one in mind, start another! Just write!

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

Yes, I am writing a very unusual ghost story for publication in August as well as the sequel to my novel, Unholy Testament.

I write flash fiction every week (Fridays) which appears on my official author blog.

Do you have a favorite method for writing, getting ideas, working out plots, etc?

Novels and short fiction are different. Novels come about from inspiration—just an idea or thought or image.
Short fiction is something else. That has to be a little more planned. There is a bit more regimentation usually in following a particular theme.

But there again, once I think along the lines of a theme, I generally just begin to develop my story.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Daphne DuMaurier as she is my favorite author. I would thank her for writing the novels she wrote. I would tell her how very much I enjoyed reading her brilliant narrative, her memorable characters.

I’ve read all of her books more than once! Novels like Rebecca, My Cousin Rachel, Jamaica Inn, Frenchmen’s Creek and The House on the Strand are gifts to be treasured.

I’d love to speak with her and tell her what I think of her and the great stories she has given the world.

What does the word success mean to you?

For me it means achieving a particular goal. It is the completion of a task I’ve given myself. The greatest success would be to complete the most difficult task I set out for myself. Success comes at the end of a particular journey, it is a kind of winning but the prize might just be the accomplishment of the deed itself.

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

Be kind to this poor, mad woman because she is working so hard to give you fiction to treasure.

The House on Blackstone Moor by Carole Gill

This is a tale of vampirism, madness, obsession and devil worship as Rose Baines, only survivor of her family’s carnage, tells her story. Fragile, damaged by the tragedy, fate sends her to a desolate house on the haunted moors where demons dwell. The house and the moors have hideous secrets, yet there is love too; deep, abiding, eternal, but it comes with a price, her soul.

Genre: Fiction – Gothic/Paranormal/Romance/Horror
Published by: Vamplit Publishing (December 17th, 2010)
Age Recommendation: 18 + for adult themes & violence
Format(s): Perfect Paperback & eBook
ISBN: 1-907366053-6
Number of pages: 251

You can check out my review of The House on Blackstone Moor HERE

You can find the complete list of tour stops HERE but there is another stop today over at:

* July 5th – Laurie J. @ Laurie’s Thoughts and Reviews

Places you can find Ms. Gill include:

Official Author Blog

Bloody Good Vampires Blog

Nurture Your BOOKS™ NING

Twitter

Facebook Page

Facebook Profile

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Blaze McRob - July 5, 2011

Great to see you here today, Carole. Great review! Two stops in one day is quite an adventure. Ole! Sell books!

Buy Carole’s book, readers! She is the best!

Blaze

2. W. J. Howard - July 5, 2011

Hi Carole! Can’t wait to follow more of the book tour.

3. carolegill - July 5, 2011

OMG! two comments! First of all Jadis, thank you so much for taking on this post, I am delighted and honored, thank you!

And Blaze, thanks so much for coming here!
and for your good wishes

Wendy, wow, that’s so nice of you to come, hope to see you guys again on the tour, you made my day!

Extreme happy, grateful thanks!

4. Book Tour – The House on Blackstone Moor + Giveaway! « Juniper Grove - July 17, 2011

[…] Today I am happy to welcome author Carole Gill back to Juniper Grove! For those of you who follow this blog closely, you may remember when Carole stopped by and allowed me to interview her about her writing habits and her book, The House on Blackstone Moor. If you didn’t get the chance to read her interview, you can check it out HERE […]


Leave a Reply

