jump to navigation

Featured Author: Daniel Arenson June 27, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Books, Featured Authors.
trackback

I’d like to welcome back author Daniel Arenson! Last year I was lucky enough to have Daniel here on Juniper Grove and we learned all about his book, Flaming Dove, and all of his writing habits. Well, Daniel is back and this time he is sharing with us about his newest fantasy novel Blood of Requiem, Song of Dragons Book 1!!

If this is your first time meeting Daniel, let me take a moment to share his bio with you:

Born in 1980, Daniel Arenson is an author of fantasy fiction, from epic to dark and surreal.

He began his career writing short stories. He sold his first story, “Worms Believe in God”, in 1998. Since then, dozens of his stories and poems have appeared in various magazines, among them Flesh & Blood, Chizine, and Orson Scott Card’s Strong Verse.

Five Star Publishing, an imprint of Gale, published Arenson’s fantasy novel Firefly Island in 2007. Since then, he’s written the fantasy novels The Gods of Dream, Flaming Dove, Eye of the Wizard, and Blood of Requiem.

~*~*~*~

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what Blood of Requiem is about?

Song of Dragons, a new fantasy series, tells a story of blood, steel, and dragonfire.

BOOK ONE: BLOOD OF REQUIEM

Long ago stood the kingdom of Requiem, a land of men who could grow wings and scales, breathe fire, and take flight as dragons. Requiem ruled the sky.

But Dies Irae, a tyrant leading an army of griffins, hunted Requiem’s people, burned their forests, and shattered their temples. Requiem fell. This ancient land now lies in ruin, its halls crumbled, its cries silenced, its skeletons littering the burned earth.

In the wilderness, a scattering of survivors lives in hiding. The griffins still hunt them, and every day promises death. Will Requiem’s last children perish in exile… or once more become dragons and fly to war?

How long did it take you to write this book?

I’m not sure.  I wrote Blood of Requiem off and on, while marketing other books, working a day job, and following various other pursuits.  I estimate that the rough draft took about 100-200 hours to write.  I probably spent another 300 hours editing and revising it.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

Mozart’s Requiem.  While listening to the music, I tried to imagine creatures among the notes, like seeing shapes in clouds.  Being a fantasy author, I heard dragons.  I wrote the novel while listening to the Requiem, and named my characters and places after lyrics from it.

Which character in this book was the most enjoyable for you to write?

Gloriae, a huntress of dragons.  She’s beautiful, imperial, and fully evil.  She’s fire encased with ice, angry inside and impossibly cold on the surface.  And yet, she’s not a caricature; she has a haunting past, an identity crisis, and many challenges to overcome.  Her story is a sad one, but she’s so over the top, and so villainous, she was a pleasure to write.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

If you love epic fantasy like A Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings, I think you’ll love Blood of Requiem.

How many books have you written so far?

Blood of Requiem is my fifth fantasy novel.  I’m also the author of Firefly Island, Flaming Dove, The Gods of Dream, and Eye of the Wizard.

Out of all the characters you have written, is there a certain one that you are closer too then the rest? If so, why?

My favorite character is Romy, a demon girl from Eye of the Wizard.  She’s a klutz.  She’s a ditz.  She’s the dumb blonde from Hell – literally.  She’s annoying, clumsy, childish, and destructive… but it’s hard not to love her.

What is the last book you read?

Silas by Robert Duperre.

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

I’m working on Tears of Requiem (Song of Dragons, Book 2).

Do you have a favorite method for writing, getting ideas, working out plots, etc?

I think of an idea.  I plan an outline.  I write one word at a time.  Nothing too mysterious, really.

What is your least favorite movie that came from a book?

The Dragonlance movie.  Great books, horrible, horrible movie.

How many books do you read a week/month?

Not as many as I’d like to.  I wish I had more time to read!

What are your thoughts on self-publishing versus traditional publishing?

I’ve had books published both ways.  I know it’s a big debate among authors.  I try not to worry about it.  Readers just want a great story; they don’t care how it’s published.  So that’s what I focus on… just telling great stories, and sharing them with readers.  Currently, the best way for me to do this is by releasing indie ebooks.  In the future that might change.

If you had to trade lives with someone for an entire week, who would you trade with? Keep in mind that they would be living your life as well.

Falcor from The Neverending Story, so I can fly around.

What is the best advice anyone has ever given to you?

In high school, I was learning how to drive a manual Subaro.  When I faced a narrow, winding, uphill street in heavy traffic, I said, “This is hard to do.”  My driving instructor said, “Yes, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t go for it.”  I think that applies to most challenges in life.

One food you would never eat?

Balut.  You probably don’t want to look that up.

Biggest Pet Peeve?

People who eat balut, of course.  (Trust me… don’t look it up!)

~*~*~*~*~

Thank you Daniel for allowing me to interview you….and for making me look up balut *turns green*

*cough*

Here are some ways that you can follow Daniel

His Website

Facebook

Get your own copy of Blood of Requiem (Song of Dragons, Book 1) on Amazon!

You can check out his interview about Flaming Dove and his writing habits HERE

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Sarah Allen - June 30, 2011

Fantastic interview! This book looks exciting, and the cover is absolutely gorgeous :)

Sarah Allen
(my creative writing blog)


Leave a Reply

