jump to navigation

Book Review: With All My Might June 21, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in 5 Tree Reviews, Book Reviews, Jaidis Shaw Reviews, Nurture Your Books.
Tags: ,
trackback

Get your copy of With All My Might from author Gabriella van Rij’s website!

Description:

Born Muslim, raised Catholic…
From an orphanage to diplomatic family…
From humble meals to three course dinners with silver cutlery…

Born in Pakistan, raised in Europe…
Every day having to defend myself at the school yard: “Is that blond, tall, gorgeous-looking woman picking you up really your mother?”

All of us have been spoon-fed or pressured into conforming by the people closest to us. Out of the conformity, our adversities are often born. You can overcome both, become free of constraints, and become proud of your own diversity.

This book talks about conformity, adversity and diversity.

Stay true to who you are!

Be YOU and PLEASE don’t apologize for being you!

My Thoughts:

With All My Might by Gabriella van Rij is one of the most remarkable books I have had the pleasure of reading lately. In this autobiography of her life, she talks about some of the issues that have shaped her into the strong woman she is today. Born in Pakistan and later adopted by a Dutch family, Gabriella was forced to experience life as an outsider, yet expected to conform into her new life.

There are many aspects covered in With All My Might that we can all relate to, even though Gabriella’s story is truly unique. Whether we are adopted or not, no matter our race or skin color, we are all human and we need to embrace that fact. If we all accept each other and more importantly, accept ourselves, then we can finally be happy. One of the inspiring things Gabriella said in her book  that I completely agree with is “Whether I am the black sheep in the family or not, I decided to embrace it. Every family has one, even if they are not adopted. I realized that no matter what, there is always one person in a family who is somehow different and does not properly integrate within the group. I was like that. I did everything differently, but that did not mean I was bad, just unique.” (pg. 105)

Another one of the things that Gabriella talks about in her book is being a mother. She says “I am not sure how other expectant mothers feel. I can only tell you that from the day I was pregnant, an enormous ‘awe’ was with me until the birth of my beautiful daughter, an awe that surpasses everything. I felt such serenity and peace and joy.” (pg. 109) I think this is something that most mothers feel, I know I did. I still feel that ‘awe’ each time I watch the face of my 3-year-old daughter while she sleeps peacefully. As I sit here and think about Gabriella’s story, I can honestly say that I do not believe that I would be as strong as she was when dealing with the issues that arose with her in-laws over her daughter.

I am honored that I was given the opportunity to read With All My Might by Gabriella van Rij. The reader will be taken along on Gabriella’s journey as she struggles to find herself in the world and will hopefully listen to the important message that Gabriella is trying to share. It’s okay to be unique, it’s okay to be different. You will be so much happier once you accept yourself and others will soon accept you as well. “Stay true to who you are! Be YOU and PLEASE don’t apologize for being you!” (Back cover of With All My Might)

My Rating:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Gabriella van Rij – With All My Might: One Woman’s Cross-Cultural Journey » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG - June 23, 2011

[…] June 23rd – Jaidis S. @ Juniper Grove Nurture Book Tour post with Book Giveaway & Book Review! […]


Leave a Reply

