jump to navigation

Book Review: Unsavory Delicacies June 10, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in 3 Tree Reviews, Book Reviews, Hazel O'Shea Reviews.
Tags:
trackback

Get your copy of Unsavory Delicacies on Kindle!

Description:

For fans of Barry Eisler and Robert Ludlum. A three-course story collection with a side-order of revenge.

Crème Brûlée

Rogue operative, Monique Beauvais, cons a software genius into selling her a coveted technology that would allow its user to control CIA drones while they’re in flight. And she will go as far as killing him in public in order to have it.

To the Last Bite

A renowned food critic—whose scathing reviews have closed down restaurants—gets a savoury surprise.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe

CIA operative, Ridley Fox, leads a team against one of Russia’s most powerful crime families. He discovers secrets, but not one that he was expecting to find.

Three stories with three consequences. All containing three Unsavory Delicacies.

My Review:

Unsavory Delicacies by Russell Brooks is a terse collection of three killer culinary short stories. There’s sex, exquisite dining, and a dead body or two!

Creme Brulee is the first story in the book, offering up international spies and conspiracies with a side of revenge!

In To the Last Bite, we meet Dennis Kirby, a renown food critic whose reviews means life or death in the restaurant business. His last critique subject was better than any other he’d had before,until he finds out the secret ingredient!

Lastly we have Shashlyk and Morozhenoe. In this tale, Mr. Brooks uses a character from one of his previous stories. In this, we read of spies and covert operations dealing with the Russian Mafia. What they came to find and what is actually hidden away, are two very different things!

Unsavory Delicacies was a very quick and amusing read. I do feel the author could have spent more time with each story, adding to the plot and length of the tale. I realize this is a collection of short stories, but they did seem even too short for that. Honestly, this book really wasn’t “my thing” but I’m sure there are plenty of readers who would truly enjoy this! There are violent and adult situations not suited for younger readers.

My Rating:

Happy Reading,

~Hazel O’Shea

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s