jump to navigation

Bestseller for a Day: Fierce Dawn May 18, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Books.
trackback

Bestseller for a Day is a wonderful program that helps to promote authors and drive their books up the Kindle charts! You may be wondering how this can be accomplished and so let me explain. A book is selected to be the bestseller for a day. This book is promoted on blogs everywhere in an attempt to get the word out about this book. When you buy a copy of the book, which will be on sale that day for only 99 cents, you submit your confirmation code on the Bestseller for a Day website. Submitting your receipt will get your 5 entries to win none other than….a Kindle! Sounds great right? Of course! Today, the Bestseller for a Day is Fierce Dawn by Amber Scott!

Ms. Scott has generously agreed to letting me interview her about all of her writing inspirations and quirks! After reading her interview, be sure to head on over to Amazon to get your own copy of Fierce Dawn!

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what Fierce Dawn is about?

Sadie Graves wants normal. Not special and certainly not destined. But when the man who haunts her sleeping and waking dreams claims she is evolving into a human changeling, normal no longer exists. On the run from an evil immortal faction, Sadie’s life depends on mastering her budding powers while her heart gets hooked on the winged man who makes her think special might not be so bad after all.

How long did it take you to write this book?

This novel took me about two years to write. I spent most of the time in revisions, tweaking and sculpting the text until it finally felt complete. I normally write a lot faster. This new world was a challenge to articulate onto the page without getting bogged down in details.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

A combination of things. I’m fascinated with the human brain and have long had the idea of what if some mental illness diagnosis aren’t legitimate. What if some brains are simply able to see more than others. Sadie showing up in my mental waiting room, whispering about her dreams, is what really made the story take hold of me, though. Her dreams and paintings revealed this world to me little by little.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

Because it will sweep you away, make your heart soar and leave you floating long after it ends.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I was four years old the first time I told my mom I’d be an author. I recall it vividly. Most of all, I recall how seriously she took my answer and how that felt. To know.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I need soundtracks for each book in order to feel the story at a physical level. I find that each book needs new music, too. While there’s one or two songs that can cross over, sometimes I hunt and hunt for just the right song to help me nail a scene.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Read. Play Angry Birds. (I’m addicted!) Drink wine, go dancing with the girls, watch a killer flick curled up with my honey and my kidlets.

What does your family think of your writing?

My son said to me after Kindergarten one day, “Momma, guess what?! Today, I met a real, live author!”

My husband believes in my 120% but gets impatient for the rest of the world to hurry up to, too.

My sisters have long ago accepted that I live forever in what they call “romance novel zone.”

A longtime family friend said, “Our little Amber wrote that? Wow.”

How many books have you written so far?

9 novels, 3 novellas, 2 screenplays and plenty of first chapters that went nowhere fast.

How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?

My husband and I called everyone and I had a nice, tall glass of merlot.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Write every day no matter what. Even 500 words. Even 50. Outstanding talent comes from deep daily practice. The human brain learns best from repetition and failure. Embrace both. Feel good about both, knowing where they will take you.

Do you hear from your readers much?

A lot! Partly thanks to the HOT Club–the not so secret, secret Facebook group where fans get extras, exclusives and all around spoiled.

What do you think makes a good story?

One that feels real. Characters that stay with you because you know them so well. Change and growth that moves you and makes you believe in the impossible. And a really hearty belly laugh never hurts.

What genre do you find the most difficult to write in and why?

Young adult. I have an idea that will only work in young adult because of the character age group but I have the hardest time keeping it PG. I haven’t given up yet, though!

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Following my own advice. Writing every day is difficult and can be intimidating. Like any author, the doubt demons come a-knocking. Thankfully, the HOT Club and peers and friends are always there to help me remember it is all worth it in the end.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

Generally, if I’m blocked, it’s because my muse, Milla, is in a snit. Meaning she wants to be writing something else. Usually something that isn’t in ‘the plan.’ I’ve found that if I give her what she wants, even a little, then she’ll more easily shift gears so I can stick to my plan. I also find that talking out or brainstorming a plot point I get stuck on does wonders for unblocking me.

What is the last book you read?

Can I cheat and share two? “Alien In The Family” by Gini Koch and “Fated” by Carolyn McCray. Both just blew me away.

If you could take any book and rewrite it, putting your own twist on it, which book would it be and why?

Ooooh. Good question! I’m slightly torn about this because I KNOW Carolyn Crane will make the tension all worth my while in book three of her Disillusionist series, but until then, I’d rewrite it so that Justine could have far more time with Packard before…nope, can’t tell! Too big of a delicious spoiler! I gotta say that book two left me dy-ing for book three.

Is there anything you need in order to write? (ie music, silence, chocolate)

Music. A pretty pen and a journal so I can note lines for later or questions that come up. 3×5 notecards so I can pin my plot on the wall.

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

I’m in final revisions on Soul Search, a historical paranormal about a wolf possessed man searching for his stolen nephew with the help of the only other witness to his nephew’s disappearance.

What is your least favorite movie that came from a book?

Lovely Bones. I wasn’t all that impressed with the book but they butchered it as a movie.

How many books do you read a week/month?

Probably 2-4 depending on how many projects I have of my own going on. I’m always reading something. I love it when I find a book that takes me away and also makes me want to write.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

My dad. He passed away when I was thirteen and I hate that I never really got to know him or be close to him. I would love to just sit and talk about his life and what he thought of mine.

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

I would go to the past and get backstage passes to a Doors concert so I could meet Jim Morrison. I’m only an average Doors fan but the man himself fascinates me.

What does the word success mean to you?

Doing a job really well. As an author, that means telling my stories so well that the reader feels like I did while writing it. Sales, reviews, fan emails are the signs that I’ve done a good job. An amazing job, I hope. It’s a pat on the back that just doesn’t compare to anything else. Well, except for kisses and giggles with my babies. But what, really, could possibly hold water to that?

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

A cat. Prissy. Flirty. Scathing when mad. Adoring when happy. And sometimes a little too independent for my own good. It leads me up trees I can’t always climb down from.

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

Grow a pair!

My career coach, Ann Charles, and I have been emailing each other weekly goals and jokes and motivations for over four years and one day she sent me an email that simply said, “Grow a pair.” I replied with “Is this our mantra for the week?” She replied with a LOL and the phrase linked, as she meant it to be, to a hilarious and totally unrelated to writing youtube video. The phrase stuck and, of the many we’ve swapped over the years, it is still my favorite.

~*~*~*~

Thank you Amber for the amazing interview!! Here are some ways to follow Amber:

Blog

Twitter

Facebook

Want to know what I thought of Fierce Dawn? You can check out my review HERE

And it’s a two-for-one day here on Juniper Grove because one of my reviewers has thoughts about Fierce Dawn as well. Check out Hazel O’Shea’s book review HERE

Buy your copy of Fierce Dawn now to help support Amber and be entered to win a Kindle!

Buy a copy of Stolen Dreams by Stacey Kennedy, Fated by Carolyn McCray or Cattitude by Edie Ramer and not only will you get your purchase price rebated to you when you submit your confirmation to the Bestseller for a Day website, but you will get 5 extra entries per book into the Kindle giveaway! So purchase some awesome books, support some amazing authors and help make the Bestseller for a Day program a success!

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Hazel O'Shea - May 18, 2011

Awesome interview Jaidis and Amber!! Terrific questions with fantastic answers! Thank you girls :)

2. Barb - May 18, 2011

Hi Jaidis! Great post and wonderful review! Thanks for joining us on Bestseller for a Day!!


Leave a Reply

