jump to navigation

Interview with author Miranda Heart May 5, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Come & Get It Romance & Erotica Week.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Come & Get It Romance and Erotica Week is still going strong here on Juniper Grove! Today I have the pleasure of interviewing author Miranda Heart about her book, Little Book of Fantasies!

~*~*~*~

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what your Little Book of Fantasies is about?

Little Book of Fantasies is about two people just trying to seem normal to the outside world. They both want the same thing from each other but too scared to ask for it. Kaitlyn’s journal ends up being the answer to both their prayers. Once Steven gets a hold of what is near and dear to her heart he knows he’s found his match. Using her own words he shows her the night of her life. Lets just say Kaitlyn goes through a whole gamut of emotion. Submission doesn’t come easy, good thing for Steven Dominance is second nature.

How long did it take you to write this book?

A few weeks

What was your inspiration to write this book? 

I wanted to write a book about a kidnapping. Yet, I didn’t want a sad story about a poor woman/child getting taken away. I wanted something fun. What’s more fun than a night alone in an abandoned train car with a guy who may or may not be a lunatic?

I understand you also have a Historical Romance,  Her Dreams Come True. Can you tell us a little bit about it?

During the worst storm England has seen in years, Roshan, offers shelter to the very beautiful Annabelle. He is surprised that the magical stone, that is supposed to lead him to his wife, he wears around his neck is nearly blistering his skin. He is far from sure that he is ready to marry again after his first wife’s death, but he has an entire night with her to rediscover love.

Annabelle is grateful to be taken in by such an unusual gentleman as Roshan. Her surprise is even greater when she realizes they have matching necklaces. The incubus that has been plaguing her dreams has already ruined her soul. Yet, not being nearly as evil as his controller, the incubus has already given her a way out. She has one night to change the outcome of her future.

This will be out May 23, 2011 from eTreasures Publishing.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your books.  

Because there is always something different to look forward to with each one.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’d say my entire life, but it had to be in high school when the school paper wouldn’t take my story because it was too shocking of a subject. My teacher loved it though. From that point forward, I realized there was something I could do that someone somewhere would approve of.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk? 

My impossibly bad grammar?

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? 

Go to the park with the kiddos, go camping, make another failed attempt at pilates

What does your family think of your writing?

The eldest daughter thinks it’s cool her mom is published, DH, I think wishes I didn’t write so risqué so he could share it with his friends…. He may get his wish soon enough.

How many books have you written so far? 

That are published? 5

How did you celebrate the sale of your first book? 

I cried and then went to dinner with DH.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author? 

Go for it. What’s the worse they can do, say no? Rejection for me was easy, it’s managing promos, websites and reviews that gets hard. LOL  But, I always had this insane idea built up that editors were larger than life. They aren’t. They have kids, they eat, sleep and breathe just like we do. They also make mistakes, so just because one says no doesn’t mean another will. If you are blessed enough to have an editor give you advice on why she can’t take your book, think on it long and hard. It could mean the difference between becoming a humble published author or being an arrogant unpublished author.

Do you hear from your readers much? 

Nope. My email is fairly quiet. But I’ve only done these five titles in about five years. I haven’t been around enough.

What do you think makes a good story? 

One that makes sense. If your characters motives don’t make sense then the story doesn’t work.

What genre do you find the most difficult to write in and why? 

Science fiction. The world building and keeping up with it all.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing? 

Overuse of words. I have my crutches and it seems I give up one just so I can lean on another. LOL

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

All the time. I take a break. A long break if I have to. Just came back after three years. And the only reason I came back was because one day while showering I wrapped up a novel that had been driving me nuts for years.

What is the last book you read? 

Larissa Ione’s  Eternal Rider

If you could take any book and rewrite it, putting your own twist on it, which book would it be and why? 

I can’t really think of any.

Is there anything you need in order to write? (ie music, silence, chocolate) 

Silence, coffee, smokes.

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on? 

Several!

Club of Hearts will be a BDSM Trilogy when it’s finished.

The Witch and The Vamp is almost finished, this is a paranormal romance or erotica, not sure yet.

Mistress is a historical romance of about 100k that’s in rewrites right now.

Last but not least I have another possible series, but at least one book for sure called Mystic Pleasures, world building is giving me hives in this one. LOL

How many books do you read a week/month?

4-6 a month if I could afford it would be closer to 10.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Katharine Hepburn. I loved her style, class and honesty. I would just love to soak that up for a while. And see a big part of our American history from her eyes.

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why? 

I would go to the past. Hard for me to choose. For one, I’d like to see the fall of Adam and Eve. Then I’d want to just make a pause every fifty years or so to see how folks were living back then. I loved that they were able to write letters and wait months before getting a response. I want to know how in the world women and men wore those high collar dresses and layers upon layers of clothes with corsets and still not die of a heat stroke. I’d love to learn how to make shoes the old fashion way and bake a pie over a fire. What caused the ice age and how did people deal with crazy weather patterns when there was no news forecast. What kind of stories folks told at night when they put their kids to bed and how did they view the bible back then vs today. Just so many questions I’d love to have answered.

What does the word success mean to you?

Joy. If you’re a joyful person, you’re successful. You can have all the money in the world and still feel like a failure. You can have nothing and live on the streets and have so much joy it overflows from you. And joy is something that can’t be taken from you no matter your money status, good or bad spouses, kids or no kids.

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

This week? It would be a cheetah. I start off strong running like crazy with a target and then peeter out about noon. LOL

If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

DOH!

If you had to trade lives with someone for an entire week, who would you trade with? Keep in mind that they would be living your life as well.

It would probably be my husband. But, the grass is always greener on the other side. Still, I’d like to know what it feels like to juggle a few less things and yet I know he can be really stressed at times.

What is the best advice anyone has ever given to you? 

It’s your mouth, only you can control what comes out of it.

One food you would never eat? 

Octopus, squid, any sort of innards.

Biggest Pet Peeve? 

When a person disagrees with everything that you say.

~*~*~*~

Thank you Miranda for stopping by and allowing me to interview you!

Little Book of Fantasies is available now at Freyas Bower

You can see the other books Miranda has out on her Website

Follow Miranda on Twitter

Until Next Time,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Miranda - May 5, 2011

Goodmorning Jaidis! Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for this great opportunity. I had a lot of fun answering your questions. :)


Leave a Reply

