jump to navigation

Interview with author Michelle Franklin May 3, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Come & Get It Romance & Erotica Week.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I had the pleasure of interviewing author Michelle Franklin for Come & Get It Romance and Erotica Week here on Juniper Grove! Read her interview to learn more about The Haanta Series and her upcoming book, Tales from Frewyn!

~*~*~*~

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what Tales from Frewyn is about?

“Tales from Frewyn” is a small collection of short stories from the Haanta Series: the ongoing, online romantic fantasy collective. It features many amusing and sensual stories about the lives of the characters from the series while living in the Diras castle keep.

How long did it take you to write this book?

As the book is a collection of tales taken from a series that has been ongoing since August 2010, I would say these stories would have only taken me a month to write. I write about 200,000 words a month so these stories along with the others on the site take only a few hours to write while I’m writing the novels.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

I am always inspired by everything, whether it’s a modern-day custom I do not fully understand or a delicious chocolate pie I see in the window of a shoppe near my home. Everything to me has the potential to be a story, and while I’m writing the books for the series, I often find many things to write about in between. What the characters think of things we find in our society is an endless source of entertainment for me and make stories out of the ones I find most interesting.

I understand you are also the author of the Haanta Series. Can you tell us a little bit about it?

The Haanta Series is a progression of epic and romantic fantasy novels beginning from the time when Commander Boudicca MacDaede met the Den Asaan Rautu. I published the first book last year. Many seemed to enjoy it so I sent it off for traditional publication. We’ll see what that yields.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your books.

If you enjoy epic fantasy with a humourous and sometimes erotic edge, then the Haanta series is for you.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I think it was grade 4 when I first wrote a story about cat people. How horrid. However, I haven’t stopped writing since.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I write for about 16-18 hours a day so I have little time for much else. I exercise, walk around my neighborhood to enjoy the fresh air, bake cookies, do yoga, discuss the direction and plot of the book with Twisk, play a few games, read some Jane Austen, and sleep if I can.

How many books have you written so far?

In general, I’m not certain. I have written much and abandoned much, but in the Haanta Series there are so far sixteen books, all of them over 150,000 words.

How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?

I started writing the next book.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Just do it. Just write. Don’t think about who will read your work or what publishing house will take your books. Just write. Write every day, write all day.

Do you hear from your readers much?

I do receive quite a few emails and messages a day and all of them saying how much they enjoy the series and the art that goes along with it. I am very grateful to the readers and pleased to provide something they enjoy.

What do you think makes a good story?

The manner in which it’s told. If the writing is compelling, the subject only enhances it.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Choosing which story or chapter to write next. There are always a million stories I want to write and I have notebooks filled with them. The biggest challenge it deciding which one I must write first.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

Sometimes I have to write one story in order to continue another. Most of the time, I’ll write a spontaneous story over MSN while speaking to Twisk and then edit it later merely to get it out of my head. I am very fortunate to never have traditional writer’s block.

What is the last book you read?

Persuasion by Jane Austen. For the tenth time.

Is there anything you need in order to write? (ie music, silence, chocolate)

Quiet, a specific track for the characters in the current story I’m writing, and snacks.

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

I’m currently writing a new story arc for the next book of the Haanta Series.

~*~*~*~

I’d like to thank Michelle for stopping by and for allowing me to interview her!

Curious about The Haanta Series? Check out the Blog HERE

Be sure to follow Michelle on Twitter

The artwork for Michelle’s The Haanta Series is drawn by Twisk so be sure to check out her Blog as well!

For your chance to win a digital copy of Tales from Frewyn, enter my giveaway HERE

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

