jump to navigation

Tattered Rags by Jodi Cain April 20, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Dark Nights Week.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Dark Nights Week is in full swing and today I have a special treat! We all enjoy books that are very descriptive, pulling us in and allowing us to catch a glimpse of the world that has been created. I believe this appeal is what makes movies so tempting, especially those made based on books. We are able to literally see our favorite book characters come to life on the screen! But what about other forms of visual arts? Today I have invited artist Jodi Cain to visit Juniper Grove and she graciously accepted! Jodi crafts some of the creepiest, dark themed dolls I have had the pleasure to see and I am excited to be able to tell you more about her artwork.

Since this is a book blog, I asked Jodi a few questions about her dolls in regards to books so let’s jump in!

Have you received any custom orders for dolls that are inspired by books?

I have gotten orders for some characters that appear in both books and movies such as Alice in Wonderland, Little Red Riding Hood, Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs, American McGee’s Alice, Little Bo Peep, Cinderella, Coralline and Jack and Sally from The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Are there any characters from books that you are looking forward to creating?

I have often thought of making a Pipi Long Stockings doll

I know you put yourself into every doll you make but is there a doll that you especially enjoyed creating?

This is a tough question as I enjoy making all of them. When it comes to custom ordered dolls, I really enjoy the challenge of bringing other people’s ideas to life so to speak. And I always enjoy making Zombie dolls…there is something sort of therapeutic to be said about making a doll in a beautiful dress and then cutting her up and making her a bloody mess hehe!

Have you ever had any trouble coming up with a doll for a custom order?

Thankfully I haven’t! I’m a very creative person and I am easily inspired by everything around me. I just love the challenge of being given a basic idea and the freedom to run with it.

It’s obvious that people love your dolls because you have sold over 1000 dolls! Have you received any negative feedback due to the controversial nature of some of your dolls?

I have! Most of the feedback I receive is very positive but I have gotten the occasional email or comment from someone stating their dislike of a particular doll. It seems rather silly to me that anyone would go out of their way to comment on something that’s not appealing to them but I am all about freedom of expression so I welcome all feedback good or bad :)

~*~*~*~

Please take out a moment and check out Jodi’s website Tattered Rags!

To learn more about Jodi’s inspiration for making her dolls, check out her interview at Oddities Magazine

If you are interested in acquiring one of Jodi’s creations, you can purchase her dolls through her website or her Etsy store!

It was difficult for me to choose which photos to display with this post because all of Jodi’s dolls are amazing in their own way! The four dolls I did choose I believe are my favorites though :) What about you? What are your thoughts on Jodi’s creations?

Until Next Time,

Jaidis

Comments»

1. Shellie - April 20, 2011

These are darling – but in a creepy sort of way…fun stuff!

2. JK Coi - April 20, 2011

Wow, I really love these!

Jaidis - April 20, 2011

You should take a look at her website! She has a TON of designs that are awesome! :)

3. The Bookish Brunette - April 20, 2011

I need a zombie one!!!!! On my way over to her website right now!

4. Hazel O'Shea - April 21, 2011

These dolls are AMAZING!! No way can I pick a favorite, I love them all! Though I will say, the Zombie dolls are Fabulously Creepy! ;)

Jaidis - April 21, 2011

Yes they are! I don’t know if I could make such a pretty doll and then throw fake blood on it..lol. But since Jodi makes them..I can just admire them :)

5. Hazel O'Shea - April 21, 2011

I know,I agree! She does such an incredible job with all of these! Fake blood and all ;) hehe

6. Jodi Cain - April 21, 2011

Thank you so much for the feature Jaidis!

Jaidis - April 21, 2011

Your welcome! It was my pleasure! Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

