jump to navigation

Dark wish a Side of Haha! – Jesse Petersen April 19, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Dark Nights Week.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Dark with a Side of Haha!

By

Jesse Petersen

~*~*~*~

Hi everyone! Thanks to Jaidis and all of you for having me today during Dark Nights Week. I write zombies, which means I do fit into the theme for the week, but I do mine a bit differently. I add the funny. Think more “Shaun of the Dead” than “Dawn of the Dead”.

I didn’t mean to write a trilogy of zombie comedy. I was happily writing along, doing historical romances under my other name, when I ended up at a showing of “Zombieland” and wham! Everything changed. I had this idea for a scene. A scene where a couple in trouble is off to marriage counseling, only to discover that their therapist has been turned into a zombie. And now they have to use all her marital advice in order to escape the apocalypse with their sanity, bodies and marriage intact.

It became the opening for MARRIED WITH ZOMBIES (September 2010, Orbit Books). And it was so fun to write. If it happened in a zombie movie or story, it went into my book. And then I added a dash of snark, a hint of pop culture and a heavy dose of my own sense of humor.

I wrote the book in order to amuse myself and figure out what would happen to Dave and Sarah next, how they would overcome it, and if they would get their marriage act back together. If I made myself laugh, I was happy. You can’t imagine how happy I am that I’ve made other people laugh, too.

Dark stories about zombies and other monsters are awesome, don’t get me wrong. I love being scared and thrilled and unable to set the book down because I need to know what happens next in order to sleep. But I also love when horror and comedy collide. I think it makes the story even more human.

What about you? Do you like your stories with a dash of funny?

Jesse Petersen writes zomedies. MARRIED WITH ZOMBIES, FLIP THIS ZOMBIE and EAT SLAY LOVE (July 2011) are all part of the “Living With the Dead” series from Orbit Books.
~*~*~*~

Thank You Jesse for stopping by and guest posting! For me personally I love both straight horror and horror with comedy. Sometimes I am just in a mood to laugh and so I love having books with comedy elements around. The same goes for wanting to read something where I’m afraid to turn off the lights…hehe.

To learn more about Jesse Petersen and her writing check out her Website

Be sure to enter my Dark Nights Giveaway where 1 lucky winner will win a paperback copy of Married With Zombies and Flip This Zombie!

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

