jump to navigation

Epilepsy Awareness + Giveaway March 26, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Epilepsy Awareness, Giveaways.
Tags: ,
trackback

Epilepsy Awareness is important to me. Growing up, I never gave it much thought.  It didn’t affect me directly, and it’s difficult to support something you have no experience with or know about.  I was for spreading awareness for many causes, but only after I was personally diagnosed with Epilepsy, could I spread awareness with vigor for something I knew about personally.

I want to take a short break from my normal book blogging posts to try to spread Epilepsy Awareness.  Well, I’m not taking a break at all.  I am adamant about spreading knowledge about Epilepsy, and until March 31st, I will be adding posts about it to my normal book posts with the hope of adding to the awareness and allowing my readers to better understand Epilepsy.

And because I love giving away stuff, I am going to start by posting a giveaway! The giveaway will end at 11:59 pm EST on March 31st. You do not have to be a follower to enter, although it is greatly appreciated. Simply leave a comment on this post with your email address so that I can contact you if you win. As a bonus, you can earn an extra entry by visiting author Tonia Brown’s blog, The Back Seat Writer, and leave a comment on the ‘Writing and Epilepsy’ guest post I wrote! This giveaway is open to US and Canada only as I will be paying the shipping costs.

First up is this lovely Sterling Silver Out of the Shadows Official Logo Necklace! I ordered it from The Epilepsy Foundation. It is gender neutral as well for the few male readers I have. I have 1 of these to giveaway!

Not only is this design super awesome, but it is a great conversation piece. If someone asks what it means or where you got it, you can tell them it represents Epilepsy Awareness! I personally wear one and am asked all the time about it!

Next up is this super cool handmade necklace pendant! I have 1 of these to giveaway to a second winner!

This pendant was made by yours truly. It is a different version of the Out of the Shadows logo. I did not design the actual design, but I made the pendant. The design is like the one found on Evanescence singer Amy Lee’s page…who happens to be the American Chair of the International “Out of the Shadows” campaign.

To learn more information about Epilepsy, please visit The Epilepsy Foundation or Out of the Shadows!

I encourage everyone to pick a cause you support and help spread awareness today! Together, we can make a difference!

~Jaidis

Comments»

1. Cindi - March 26, 2011

I worked with children in a LD/BD classroom…
Classroom aide was my title and I worked with
a boy who as a toddler fell out of a grocery
cart and hit his head. He had epilepsy since he
fell out of that cart. It amazes how many
people let children stand in the carts and I am
always scared that they are going to fall out.
Many thanks, Cindi

2. Cindi - March 26, 2011

I left a comment at The Back Seat Writer on your
post called “Writing and Epilepsy.”
I really enjoyed reading your philosophy because
my great-niece had an undiagnosed illness last
year that included seizures…
Again, many thanks to you!
Cindi

3. debbie - March 26, 2011

My son suffers from gran mal seizures. I know how they can affect you.
twoofakind12@yahoo.com

4. Allie - March 26, 2011

This necklace is so beautiful! I love that it represents epilepsy awareness because not many people I know, including myself, know much about epilepsy.

5. Christie - March 26, 2011

These are so beautiful! It’s awesome when giveaways help to promote awareness and are for a great cause.

swaggirl01 at gmail dot com

6. Samantha Cheng - March 26, 2011

Wow… now I feel so unaware of my surroundings! I can’t believe I didn’t know about these seizures!!! Thanks so much for informing me about this, even if it’s sad. I love how you’ve linked this giveaway with an important cause!

7. alittleteteatete - March 26, 2011

You are an inspiration. So often we get caught up in our own lives and we forget to educate ourselves. I’ll spread the message. Keep up the great work – together we can make a difference!

alittleteteatete@gmail.com

8. Emma Langley - March 28, 2011

Hi, I was diagnosed with epilepsy 18 months ago, in that time, I’ve had 11 months off work with many seizures and bad side-effects of the meds.

Like so many people, until I got diagnosed I didn’t know much about epilepsy. Now, I’m spreading the word and raising awareness.

Thank you for your words.

Emma Langley – crystalhealing@hotmail.co.uk

9. Janet Burchfield - March 28, 2011

Beaytiful work all the way around! ;)

10. Janet Burchfield - March 28, 2011

Opps..Beautiful!

11. Shava Nerad - March 30, 2011

Got TLE, and out tothe world (incl my tweeps). Thanks for spreading the word!

12. Lynn Kruse - March 31, 2011

I do not have epilepsy, but having had one seizure, I can’t even imagine going through that regularly and w/o warning. Just like many other diseases, like diabetes (which I do have), this condition needs to be cured. Thank you for your efforts!

13. Lilly - March 31, 2011

very pretty pretty! i’m all for encouraging awareness! I have a few friends that have epilepsy and i’m happy to support.

14. Amy - March 31, 2011

That’s beautiful. My sweet stepbrother has epilepsy! Thank you for bringing awareness to this!

Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

15. Jennifer O. - March 31, 2011

I had a friend whose mother had epilepsy. She died after having a seizure when my friend was young. Thanks for spotlighting this.

16. Kimberly - March 31, 2011

I would love to win this, this is something
I hold dear to me as my hubby is epileptic
Kimberly.brasher@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

