jump to navigation

Book Review: Bloated Goat March 25, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in 4 Tree Reviews, Book Reviews, Jaidis Shaw Reviews.
Tags:
trackback

Get your copy of Bloated Goat on Kindle!!

Description:

When Granny Hammy finds Bloated Goat face down in her front yard’s drainage ditch, her grandson Cocky Doodle thinks nothing of it. In fact, he says that’s just another normal day for his best friend. But when they discover that Bloated Goat has little black Xs for eyes and is even more bloated than normal, they realize it is much more serious.

Come join the fun in a wacky adventure filled with jewel thieves, a despondent wolf, an alligator gangster, a kingdom of hungry mushrooms, a shocking skunk wedding, and a mysteriously powerful chameleon known as Crazy Ned.

My Review:

Who knew a book with the title Bloated Goat could be so hilarious! Written for grades 8 and up, Bloated Goat by Manley Peterson is a giggle inducing ride from start to finish. When Cocky Doodle’s friend, Bloated Goat, is found in a ditch with Xs for eyes, Cocky is heart-broken. In an attempt to make things right, Cocky asks Granny Hammy to help him take Bloated Goat back to his homeland for a proper burial. To thicken the plot, Mr. Peterson has thrown in some very unique characters, who happen to want Bloated Goat for various reasons. A nearly blind skunk steals Bloated Goat and marries him because of his aroma. A rat pack wants Bloated Goat as their prized possession. Not to mention some partying elephants bring to light the questions of why did the chicken cross the road. With each page I found myself laughing more and more. I don’t know if it was my lack of sleep, or maybe just my warped sense of humor (which is the direction I’m leaning in) but this book is one that I will enjoy reading to my daughter. If you are anything like me and love hearing your child squeal in delight, then reading them Bloated Goat is definitely the way to go! Like all great children’s books, Bloated Goat ends on a happy note. I am only left with two questions. My first is if there are plans to make this into a print version? I would love to see a print edition with pictures added to make reading it even more enjoyable. My second is, where does one go to find an abominable snow kitten? :)

My Rating:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

