jump to navigation

Featured Author: John Brinling March 13, 2011

Posted by Jaidis in Featured Authors.
Tags: ,
trackback

I took a short break from having Featured Authors here on the blog while I focused on getting caught up on book reviews. I’m happy to announce that I will be starting to feature authors again…Yay! If you are an author and would like to be featured here on Juniper Grove, please send a message my way and we can work out the details :)

~*~*~*~

Let’s get started with today’s Featured Author…John Brinling! Continue reading to learn about Mr. Brinling’s book, The Ghost of a Flea, what inspired him to write it, and some of his writing quirks! Be sure to stop back by Juniper Grove tomorrow to get an in-depth look on the effect that writing has had on his life!

Without giving too much away, can you tell us what your book is about?

Time: 1975
Location: New York City

The murder of Roger’s musician friend, Gideon Whiting, turns Roger’s world up-side-down. His wife, Natalie, lies to him. His best friend, Ted, lies to him. His boss and U.S. Senate candidate, Charlie Holt, lies to him. And Lieutenant Tarrington, a homicide detective, is convinced Roger killed Gideon—but is Tarrington who he claims to be, or is he lying, too?

Peggy Curtis, the blond bombshell who dropped into Roger’s life one snowy night after he left Gideon’s apartment, might be the only person who can unravel the Gordian knot facing Roger, yet she has serious credibility problems, and is the last person he would want to rely on with his life and freedom on the line.

The drug cartel masterminding much of the chaos seeks an address book it thinks Roger took from Gideon. As their ruthless pursuit intensifies, the police learn of the book and join the chase. The problem is, Roger doesn’t have what they want and he must get it before they decide he is expendable.

How long did it take you to write this book?

About 6 months with updates over the years.

What was your inspiration to write this book?

When I write, I sit down and sort of let things happen. Blake’s painting certainly helped inspire me. I saw the creature as Gideon. Roger was me.

Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

It’s fun. Exciting. And if you like romance, there is a strong romantic subplot.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

When I was a teenager.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Like Hitchcock, I think I appear in every book as some character or amalgam of characters.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Read. Watch sports. Watch movies.

What does your family think of your writing?

Totally supportive.

How many books have you written so far?

Difficult to say. At least six. Many more partials. I’ve also written a bunch of screenplays and short stories.

How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?

An evening out with my wife.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Be prepared for an uphill slog. It’s a lot harder than you might think and everybody is writing now. The self-publishing industry has opened the doors.

Do you hear from your readers much?

Some. I would like more.

What do you think makes a good story?

Anything can trigger a story. The problem is finding the time to write them all.

What genre do you find the most difficult to write in and why?

I like action/adventure/thriller/mystery genres. Therefore haven’t ventured far a field, though I have a real family drama in the works. Comedy might be a real challenge, because it is all about timing.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Everything. Creating characters, giving them proper motivation, remaining consistent throughout the book, throwing plot twists at them that are logical and help advance the story.

Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

Yes and no. Usually when I’m working on too many things at once and I don’t let the story and characters evolve naturally. The only way out is to refocus on one work and get it humming again.

What is the last book you read?

The last Harry Potter.

Is there anything you need in order to write? (ie music, silence, chocolate)

My wife is terrific. She let’s me do my thing and actually helps me when I need help, like developing a book cover, sorting thru a plot twist, getting insight into a female character, etc.

Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

Yes, yes, yes. I just published a short story titled “His First Kill.” And I have this long family drama nearly completed tentatively titled “Last Rites.” It was titled ALONE but somebody just used that title.

How many books do you read a week/month?

Currently, I’m not doing a lot of book reading. I read a lot of magazines and a lot of blogs. Most of the time I’m writing now.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Bill Clinton. I love the way his mind works.

If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

I’d like to take a trip in both directions. The Middle Ages are intriguing. And say a hundred years into the future. I can’t imagine where we’ll be then.

What does the word success mean to you?

Growing old gracefully. Sharing a comfortable life with my daughter and wife. Selling a few good books.

If you had to compare yourself to an animal, which one would it be and why?

A dog. A Briard. We had several and they had good lives. Of course, I’d need a loving master.

If you had to trade lives with someone for an entire week, who would you trade with? (Keep in mind that they would be living your life as well.)

My wife often says she wants to come back as me. I guess I’d like to step into her shoes for awhile and see what her life is really like. She’s a very upbeat person and laughs readily. It’s an infectious laugh and I love that about her.

~*~*~*~

Thank You Mr. Brinling for stopping by and being a Featured Author on Juniper Grove!

Can’t wait to read The Ghost of a Flea? Get your Kindle copy now!!

Interested in winning a copy? Check back on March 17th when I will be giving away 3 Ebook copies!

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

