jump to navigation

Featured Author: J.M. Pierce December 1, 2010

Posted by Jaidis in Featured Authors.
trackback

I had originally planned on having just one Featured Author a week, but as fate would have it, I was swamped with authors willing to do interviews! The response has been wonderful and I found myself having enough interviews to last way into March! Thus I have decided to do two Featured Authors a week, posting a new author and interview every Sunday and Wednesday during most weeks to cut down on the wait time for the authors. The Featured Author for today goes too…J.M. Pierce!!

J.M. Pierce is a simple Midwestern man with a creative side that has found writing as its primary outlet. He lives happily with his wife and two children in rural Kansas and finds happiness in a good cup of coffee, a Kansas sunrise, a good book, the sound of his daughter singing, his son’s laughter, and his wife’s eyes. Everything else is gravy. 

~*~*~*~


Without giving too much away, can you tell us what this book is about?

Failing Test begins as Test Davis enters his last weeks of high school. He is a good kid with a horrible home life, a lack of self control, and a crush on a Nicole Paxton. When he finally gets his chance with Nicole, it doesn’t go as planned and, once more, his anger gets the better of him. In a drunken fit of rage, he discovers a power that had been resting dormant within him. His life then becomes the ultimate test (and failure) of self control as his secret is revealed to the world.

How long did it take you to write your book?

From start to publish, it took right at a year.
 
Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

I like how Steve Windwalker of Kindle Nation Daily said it.

“Read it because there are teenagers in your life and it may be a gateway not only to getting them reading, but also to your ability to connect with them and learn something about their worlds. Just a thought.”
 
When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I have always been a writer in one form or another. I made my first comic book when I was in grade school, poetry in junior high, and music in high school and throughout my adult years. It wasn’t until two years ago that writing a novel occurred to me.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I like to be in the dark when I write. I am not a fan of overhead lighting.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I am a musician, an amateur photographer, and I also raise snakes and chickens.

What does your family think of your writing?

For the most part, they are supportive. It is a careful balancing act to avoid writing and promoting too much in sacrifice of family time. A large part of why I write (aside from the great personal satisfaction that it provides) is the possibility of providing a better life for my wife and children.

How many books have you written so far?

I have written two complete works.
 
How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?
 
I took the family out to a local steak house.

If you have written multiple books, which book was the most enjoyable for you to write? What about the least enjoyable?

I don’t think that I could choose between the two. My second book, Duality, was a bit difficult at times because of the dark places I had to go in order to tell the story. There were times when I had to take some deep breaths and remind myself that it’s a story.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to become a published author?

Be patient. Rarely does success happen overnight. While you’re waiting for your future to happen, write and read as much as you can.
 
Are you self published and if so, do you think it’s better/easier than trying to find a publisher?

I am self published and proud, though I don’t think it’s any better or easier than being traditionally published. Both have their strengths and deficiencies and it is up to the individual to decide what is right for them.

Do you hear from your readers much?

I actually have been lately. It is the best payment that an author could ask for.

What do you think makes a good story?

I’ll answer this question as a reader. I want to be transported to another place when I’m reading. I want to experience the world that the author has created. I want to see it, smell it, and dream about it. It is important to me that there are characters that I can relate to. I want to feel their pains and joys.
 
Outlines? Are they needed or just a waste of time?

I don’t use outlines, but I would never say they are a waste of time. Whatever works for an author, I’m all for it.
 
If you had it to do all over again, is there anything that you would change in any of your books?

Not really. There are things that I would change in regards to what I’ve done after the book has been published, but not really anything in the books themselves.

Is there anything that you find challenging in your writing?

Time is my biggest challenge. I work full time and have a family. There never seems to be enough time in a day.
 
Do you ever experience writer’s block and if so, how to you overcome it?

YES! I just force myself through it. Typically it happens in a transition from scene to scene. I know where I want to go, sometimes it’s difficult to get there. I’ll push through it (sometimes it may take a couple of days) until I get to the next scene. If I don’t like what I did, I’ll fix it in the editing phase.
 
What is the last book you read?

October Breezes by Maria Hooley
 
Is there anything you need in order to write? (ie music, silence, chocolate)

I can listen to music as long as it fits the scene that I’m working on. I can’t just have the radio or t.v. playing in the background. As mentioned previously, I like to write in the dark.
 
Do you have any writing projects you are currently working on?

I am currently working on the sequel for Failing Test. It is titled A Shadow’s Light and contains the origin of Test’s powers. I also have several other starts to different novels, one of which is the third book to Failing Test.
 
Night owl or Early bird?
 
Definitely an early bird.

If you could have dinner with 1 person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Stan Lee. I would just want to share my thanks for his giving me (and now my son) so much entertainment.
 
If you could travel into the past or future, where would you go and why?

The past. I’ve said it a million times that if I could live in Mayberry, I’d be right at home. The simplicity of that image appeals to me.
 
What does the word success mean to you?

Success to me is providing for my family’s comfort and well being. I would like to think that it would also enable a little peace of mind.
 
If you had to have one word or phrase written on your forehead for an entire week, what would it be?

“Your life is an occasion. Rise to it.” – Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

~*~*~*~

I’d like to Thank J.M. Pierce for stopping by and being the Featured Author on my blog!!

Be sure to pick up your own paperback copy of Failing Test!!

Or get Failing Test on Kindle!

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

