jump to navigation

Book Review: Failing Test December 1, 2010

Posted by Jaidis in 5 Tree Reviews, Book Reviews, Jaidis Shaw Reviews.
trackback

Description:

You know him, but you can’t remember his name. He is the one that is always there, in the background, all but invisible to those roaming the hallways. What if he had a secret? What if it was a secret that even he didn’t know?

Test Davis has always been a blur to those around him. He’s a shadow like a million other kids–not smart enough for the academic team, not beast enough for the football team, not extroverted enough for the drama crowd. In all things Test is just…not, which is why no one ever notices him.

But what happens when someone does notice him– Nicole Paxton, a cheerleader, no less? What happens on the night that Test finds out there’s nothing average about him and that a powerful gift has been hidden within, secretly waiting to be set free and alter his life forever? The question is, will that power save him and those he loves or tear them apart?

My Review:

I recently finished reading Failing Test by J.M. Pierce and I must admit that I was a little hesitant by the description because it sounded like one of those books that has an awesome idea but could easily be taken in the wrong direction or have what I like to refer to as the ‘sparklyness’, which in my opinion is not a good thing to have, but I still found myself intrigued by it. I originally planned on sitting down and reading a few pages, just to get a feel for it, and then come back to it later after I got some things done around my house. I found myself pleasantly surprised that my original plan was shattered as I was staring at the last page of the book on my computer in disbelief that it was over. I believe Failing Test is beautifully written and gave just the right attention to details. Not long and drawn out details that make you skip down a few sentences just to get to the main point, but details that draw you in and make it easy for you to imagine yourself in the story along side the characters. The main character, Test Davis, gives off the ‘can’t live with him, can’t live without him’ vibe which makes me feel even more sympathetic towards him and the struggles that he is faced with. I’m actually finding myself having a difficult time writing this review because I want to keep telling you about his powers and the struggles he is facing, but would most definitely prefer that you buy the book and read it for yourself. I know that you will be pleasantly surprised by Failing Test’s smooth paced twists and turns. I enjoyed reading it so much in fact, that I am going to buy a paperback copy just to have on my bookshelf because I will definitely be reading this book again…and again

My Rating:

Happy Reading,

Jaidis

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

